Thursday, March 27, 2008

SDS All-Stars - Electone Fortissimo

Well, it appears that I'm a part-time blogger these days. I'm finding it harder to find the time to rip and restore the vinyl, scan the artwork and post it all on the net. Ah well, I guess it will be all the more welcome when it finally arrives.

If you downloaded the King records post form a couple of months ago, you will have already heard the SDS All-Stars. Their seven electrone organs, plus the obligatory pianos, marimbas, percussion etc combine to make a quintessential lounge sound.

"...A special studio, approximately the sound of a small telivision studio was used with the instruments arranged for the latest stereophonic recording techniques. The bass notes from two of the electronic organs were reproduced through a specially designed speaker system weighing over a ton. Higher frequencies were reproduced through a bank of cabinets housing multi-speakers placed left and right of centre stage. The piano, percusion, guitars, vibraphone etc. were spread fanwise at the rear of the stage..."

Hey, these guys went to a lot of trouble for you - you'd just better appreciate it...

01 - Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
02 - Theme From Exodus
03 - March From 'The River Kwai'
04 - Around The World In 80 Days
05 - An Affair To Remember
06 - Gone With The Wind
07 - The Call Of The Far-Awy Hills
08 - Theme From A Summer Place
09 - Johnny Guitar
10 - Mon Oncle
11 - Summertime In Venice
12 - My Foolish Heart

SDS All-Stars - Electone Fortissimo
SDS All-Stars - Electone Fortissimo

Mr Snookles

Sunday, March 02, 2008

Arthur Feidler - Plays The Beatles

Hurrah! The Fab Four return in orchestral garb for this excellent offering from the 95 piece Boston Pops orchestra. Arranger Richard Hayman adds witty musical references throughout to such classical composers as Tchaikovsky and Richard Straus. Elaeanor Rigby is introduced by the theme from 'Thus Spake Zarathustra' for example, and 'Yellow Submarine' has many amusing nautical references in it. All in all a pretty decent outing from Arthur and the crew, with two bonus tracks ('Oliver' and 'Those were the Days').

01 - Eleanor Rigby
02 - And I Love Her
03 - Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
04 - Hey Jude
05 - With A Little Help From My Friends
06 - Yellow Submarine
07 - I Want To Hold Your Hand
08 - Penny Lane
09 - A Hard Day's Night
10 - The Fool On The Hill
11 - Consider Yourself
12 - Those Were The Days

ps track 4 'Hey Jude' has been incorrectly named as 'With A Little Help From My Friends' the same as track 5. you will need to update the name of this track...
Arthur Feidler - Plays The Beatles
Arthur Feidler - Plays The Beatles

Mr Snookles