Saturday, February 21, 2009

Hank Snow - Snow In Hawaii

From Nashville, Tennessee to the Beach at Waikiki - that's a fair conceptual leap. But I think it's fair to say that this album by Country'n'Western crooner Hank Snow does a fair job of bridging the gap. Produced by Chet Atkins, the delightful lap-steel guitar work is a highlight, and I suspect was played by Mr Atkins himself.

Another ancient and battered poece of vinyl that required heaps of restoration - the end result is surprisingly good - little surface noise and a purty darn good sound if I say so myself. The cover scans also reveal the work of some infant hand drawing biro additions to Hank's face...

01 - Hula Love
02 - Beyond The Reef
03 - On The Beach At Waikiki
04 - Hawaiian Sunset
05 - My Little Grass Shack
06 - Trade Winds
07 - Don't Sing Aloha When I Go
08 - Blue For Old Hawaii
09 - Hawaiian Cowboy
10 - To You Sweetheart, Aloha
11 - The Crying Steel Guitar Waltz
12 - Oahu Rose

Hank Snow - Snow In Hawaii

Hank Snow - Snow In Hawaii

Mr Snookles